Joel Lavine, MD, PhD

Joel E. Lavine, MD, PhD, is tenured Professor of Pediatrics, also in the Institute of Human Nutrition, Division of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition at Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons. A noted physician-scientist, his research centers around the etiopathogenesis, genetics, natural history, environmental provocation, biomarker/bioimaging development and treatment of particular pediatric liver diseases, with emphasis on fatty liver.

Since 2002, Prof. Lavine has been the sole Pediatric Principal Investigator funded by the NIDDK for the Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis Clinical Research Network (NASH CRN). He is the sole pediatric co-author for the Guidelines for NASH from the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD), as well as the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) and American College of Gastroenterology (ACG). Prof. Lavine has served as the primary author on numerous clinical trials in adult and pediatric NAFLD/NASH, and along with Dr. Vos (primary author), served as corresponding author for the manuscript published in 2020 in Gastroenterology on “Factors to Consider in the Development of Drugs for Pediatric NAFLD”, along with representatives from the FDA, EMA, and numerous industry partners.

He chaired and co-chaired numerous NIH committees, including the NASH CRN Steering Committee, the NASH CRN Database Committee, and the NASH CRN Pediatric Committee. He has Chaired numerous NIH Grant Review Panels, the NIDDK Data and Safety Monitoring Board of the Cholestatic Liver Disease Research and Education Network (ChiLDReN), and TEEN-LABS (Longitudinal Assessment for Bariatric Surgery.

Prof. Lavine earned his doctorate in Molecular Biology in 1980 at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and his Medical Degree from the University of California, San Diego, in 1984. He is board certified in pediatrics and pediatric gastroenterology, where he trained at the University of California, San Francisco. He has been a Division Chief at UC San Diego and Columbia University for 25 years.